Menu Search
Welcome to Lewes Athletic Club
Success Through Enjoyment

Great results for Lewes AC runners in the Brighton Marathon

There were some amazing results for Lewes AC runners in the Brighton Marathon held on Sunday. There were eight life time bests out of the 16 Lewes AC runners taking part. Best of the bunch must be Matt Homewood who knocked 41minutes from his previous best time when he finished in 3hrs 15mins 45secs. Not too far behind in ‘beating the personal best stakes’ must be Josh Burgess who knocked 33 minutes from his personal best with a time of 3hrs 08mins 36sec. Dominic Osman-Allu also comes into this category by beating his previous best by 29 minutes with his time of 3hrs 22mins 28secs and Andrew Chitty who bettered his previous time by 21mins in a finishing time of 3hrs 27mins 02secs. Just a jot behind in beating his life time best was Neil Baker who was quicker by 20 minutes with his marathon time of 3hrs 34mins 07secs.

In terms of overall performance the Lewes AC prizes must go to Tom Morris and who, in his first road marathon and with a time of 2hrs 47mins 39secs finished in 24th position overall. This in an international race with nearly 9,000 finishers is a really great performance. Not to be outdone there were also some really great age category results with Simon Thomas finishing in 3rd position in the over 50 age category and 98th overall in a time of 3hrs 04mins 41secs. Neil Gower in the same over 50 category finished 7th and 162nd overall in a time of 3hrs 10mins 24sec.

Not to be outdone in the age category stakes Andrew Chitty finished 10th in the over 55 age group in a time of 3hrs 27mins 02secs. Also in her very first marathon Carolyn Bennett finished in a remarkable time of 3hrs 36mins 12secs which gave her 8th position in the women aged over 45 category.

Colin Bennett in his first marathon finished in 3hrs 14mins 52secs not only a great time but one against which he can judge when seeking to beat his personal best in his next marathon. Matt Button in a time of 3hrs 28mins 08secs managed to beat his own person best by 11 minutes and Ed Wheeler cracked his personal best by 8 minutes with his time of 3hrs 32mins 46sec. Also Paula Taylor was quicker than her previous marathon best by 4 minutes when finishing in 3hrs 55mins 14sec.

Other club members finishing in great times were Mauro Lazzati in his first marathon with a time of 3hrs 29mins 40secs and Richard Cowper in 3hrs 39mins 27secs and Gerald Dummett in a time of 3hrs 40mins 47secs.

Whilst the marathon was under way the younger members of the club were also having some tremendous results in the age category mile races that are run over the last mile of the course. In the under 18 boys race Ludo Goodliffe came second in 4mins 36sec; Tim Calliafas 4th in 4mins 58secs and Patrick McManus 5th in 5mins 07secs.

In the under 18 girls Maddy Smith took the first prize by coming first in a time of 5mins 38secs; Evie Rothwell was 4th in 6mins 52secs and Faith Daughtery 6th in 6mins 15secs. In the under 15 boys category Connor Sullivan was 6th in 5mins 31secs; Tom Lambert 9th in 5mins 42sec; Jack Hodgson 11th in 5mins 52secs and Sam Rogers 12th in 5mins 53secs. In the under 15 girls Alex Chitty was 18th in a time of 7mins 17secs. In the under 13 girls race one Amy Fines was 7th in a time of 6mins 44secs and Danny Jacobs 10th in 6mins 51sec. In the under 13 girls race two Ella Mundy was 12th in 6mins 55secs and in the under 11 girls race two Hannah Lambert was 3rd in a time of 6mins 52secs. The under 11 boys race one saw Max Lindsay come in 15th in a time of 6mins 46secs and in race two Ben Walters came first in a time of 5mins 58sec.